Another Bonnet and Bootie Combo

I hope you’re not getting sick of my bonnet and bootie combo? Both of them are such an easy knit that I always come back to them when I want to make a present for friends. I also like the fact that I can always revert to my stash and use up some leftover wool, like with this pair. The wool I used was sock wool that I bought in Germany many, many years ago.

The sock yarn was actually a good idea as they turned out the perfect size for a newborn. I do also like the fact that the yarn had a mixture of pink and blue that came out as I was knitting the booties.

The pattern (my own, in case you didn’t know) is still one of my favourite patterns for booties, especially as I can often knit a pair of booties in an afternoon.

And then there’s the bonnet, another pattern from the guys over at Garnstudio. Again, it’s such a great pattern to knit as it takes me virtually no time at all to complete it these days as I’ve knitted so many versions of this bonnet. I remember the first time I made it, I got lost with the instructions, but now it’s like second nature.

What do you think of the tie strings? Due to the yarn they’ve worked out fantastically with a pink and a blue side, I love it!

Generally the entire bonnet turned out great I think, I simply love the fact that the sock yarn has a built in pattern, I must make sure that I get some more sock yarn from somewhere. I normally try and get some when I’m in Germany, but who knows I might even be able to find some here in the UK or even online.

The combo was for a really old school friend of mine who I got in touch again last August as I’m trying to organise a reunion for the class from my first school, I spent my first eight years of school with them and am trying to organise something for this coming year. Which might not be as easy as I thought, as I’ve got a very busy year coming up! Anyway, my friend really loved them and her little girl wore the hat on her first outing!

2 Responses to “Another Bonnet and Bootie Combo”

  1. I love this little set – a friend of mine is having a baby this year and I think these little things are a perfect gift.

  2. adorable!
    i especially like how the stripes worked up on the bottom of the booties!

Leave a Reply

