Birthday Vest for my Nephew

For my nephew’s first birthday on 25th August I managed to whip up a quick, and dare I say very nice little vest. It’s another great design from the guy’s at Garnstudio (I know I keep on harking on about how great they are, but they truly are!). And the patterns are always so easy and such a pleasure to knit.

I like how the double moss stitch at the top makes the entire vest a little more exciting than if it was just stockinette stitch. And I’m quite pleased with the colour, as it can be teamed with either a white top underneath, making it tres chic, and any other colour really.

Picking up the stitches for the arms was a little bit tricky, as I had to make sure there were a certain number of them. However, it does give the vest a very nice finish.

The entire vest was knitted in the round and for the first time rather than grabbing my double pointed needles I used a size 40 circular needle. It initially felt uncomfortable knitting with the needle, but I quickly got used to it, and I’m sure I’ll be using them again soon. I’m planning on making the same vest for my little man, but in a nice green (I think that’s my favourite colour for him, as I seem to always pick it for any new project for him).

I found some nice buttons in my stash and was able to finish off the vest with those. If you’re interested in the details, they’re over on Ravelry.

3 Responses to “Birthday Vest for my Nephew”

  1. The moss stitch is a really lovely detail. 🙂 It reminds me of a traditional fisherman’s gansey stitch pattern. I’ve downloaded the pattern in the hope that I’ll get a girlie one made this winter!

  2. That’s a great little vest with lovely detail. I’ve used Garnstudio once or twice and they certainly do seem to have some pretty good patterns. Have a good weeek. Ros

  3. aw. this is just the sweetest thing.

Leave a Reply

