Children’s Book Week 2011 – Blogtoberfest: Day Four

Did you know that it’s Children’s Book Week in the UK this week? It’s interesting to me that this has come around at this particular moment, as I’ve just recently received a list of the books I had a child from my twin brother (he had children first so got all of the books we had when we were children). And these are the books that I’m hoping to get for Luke. Now those of you who know me will know that these are all going to be in German. It’s about time too as up to now we’ve only had English books and while I talk to Luke all day long in German, I still have to read him the books in English and it just doesn’t feel right.

These are my favourite three:

Drei Bären (yes that is indeed Goldilocks)

Hänschen im Blaubeerenwald

Pelle’s Neue Kleider

I’ve now put together wishlists on both Amazon.co.uk and Amazon.de, mainly as a reminder for myself and also to share with my family in case they want to buy Luke a present.

2 Responses to “Children’s Book Week 2011 – Blogtoberfest: Day Four”

  1. Wonderful that you are reading German books to Luke. My kids were raised in two languages, German my mother tongue and French as we lived in the French part of Switzerland. Later they had English in school too. Every language you teach your child is greatly appreciated and opens another door of this world.

  2. oh we love elsa beskow over here too! her books are so so magical!

Leave a Reply

