Baby Hoodie/Coat – Blogtoberfest: Day Eighteen

As I knew I would be travelling today, I scheduled this post. This is the first time I have ever sccheduled a post, I might add. I made this coat/hoodie (an exact copy of the one Luke has) for an old colleague and friend of mine. She had a little girl recently and loved the coat on Luke and asked me to knit one for her little girl.

It’s a Debbie Bliss pattern, see Ravelry, and it’s a real joy to knit. Very straightforward, and straight pieces for that matter. I went with Debbie Bliss yarn as well and it feels very soft and luxurious.

I decided to go for red buttons to give the little coat that extra ‘ce ne se qua’.

I like how the hood falls, and I think it works very well when it’s being worn (wait for it, I promise there’s a baby pictured with it on in this post!)

The sleeves work well because the cuffs are turned up, which means that this will definitely fit for a while. In fact, Luke still wears his and he first started wearing it when he was around 3 or 4 months old.

I promised, didn’t I! Here’s a picture of little Sophia wearing it, isn’t she just adorable?

4 Responses to “Baby Hoodie/Coat – Blogtoberfest: Day Eighteen”

  1. I love this pattern. 😀 It does look incredibly cute and the contrast of the buttons against the yarn is brilliant!

  2. love this pattern! and you picked the perfect buttons!

  3. This jacket is just so gorgeous. I love the green and then the contrasting red buttons. It is just stunning. I imagine it would be very easy to knit.

  4. One day I will be able to knit like this. When you have a free moment, I will have to pop over and have a knitting lesson, or two… I really am atrocious! Love Rosie x

Leave a Reply

