FO: Grandpa Waistcoat (on Luke)

I was able to finish the the little grandpa waistcoat for Luke yesterday and did a little photoshoot with him today. But before I give you the pictures of my gorgeous little man in his new waistcoat, here are some details about the project and some initial pictures without him in it.

I showed you the start of what I was knitting last WIP Wednesday and here is now the finished piece. It’s another DROPS pattern, one of their new ones for 2012.  It was a real joy to knit, apart from me forgetting the button holes at one point and having to undo a fair chunk of what I’d knitted. Also, I miscounted the stitches I needed for the two front pieces and the back piece, so, there are two additional stitches on the left front piece. But, to be honest, it’s not really noticeable at all.

The pockets are knitted later, where slits are left when knitting up, and aren’t really proper pockets. It’s not like Luke is really going to be using the pockets :-). I did decide to knit a size up, so instead of knitting the 12-18 months size I went with the 2 year size. And you know what, I actually think it works really well. This will be part of Luke’s outfit for his birthday party, and I’ve bought a little shirt as well…he’ll look even more adorable then he does anyway!

And now, the results of mine and Luke’s photo shoot this morning.

7 Responses to “FO: Grandpa Waistcoat (on Luke)”

  1. Hi Anna I love this one. Do you have it on your etsy shop? I love to buy one for Rowan for this winter.

  2. oh i love it so!
    luke looks beyond adorable! babies dressed in grownup style clothes is so my favorite!

  3. oh wow! This is sooo cute!

  4. I love it! It’s definitely boyish and he does look a bit like an esteemed old gent. 😉 I am sitting here with a cuppa, so I will go and investigate the DROPS patterns for something for Rose!

  5. That is gorgeous. He looks so cute in that … nice photos. You have done an excellent job.

  6. So cute! I love “old man sweaters” on little boys. He looks so dapper!

  7. The vest looks so good – and it looks great on Luke! It fits him so nicely. Great job!

Leave a Reply

