FO: A Waistcoat on the Way to Australia

I’ve told you about the waistcoat I’ve been knitting for Rowan, the grandson of the lovely Roberta over at Rowantree Design the last few weeks. See posts here and here. Well, I finally managed to finish it on Sunday and sewed on the buttons and I was able to post it off yesterday. Here it is in all its navy glory:

It’s the same pattern I used to knit Luke’s waistcoat and yes, it is indeed a DROPS pattern. It’s a great knit and is finished relatively quickly, even though I made the 2 year size. I also like it because it’s knitted in one, so that means that the only sewing that needs to be done is the shoulders, the pocket slits and the buttons.

I love the effect of the moss stitch and I do think that it gives the waistcoat quite an elegant finish.  I added some mother-of-pearl buttons and I think they also look very chic.

As I mentioned Roberta and I are doing a swap. I’ve knitted this waistcoat for her gorgeous grandson Rowan and she’s sending me a romper for Luke. Do check out her website she makes the most amazing clothes for little boys and girls. I’m so excited to receive the romper and can’t wait to show you all a picture of Luke wearing it.

And here is the waistcoat all wrapped up nicely and ready to be packed up to be posted.

3 Responses to “FO: A Waistcoat on the Way to Australia”

  1. It’s gorgeous. 🙂 I love that pattern and need to find a small boy to knit one for, I think!

  2. Love the vest and love the way you’ve wrapped it …. looks so nice.

  3. so sweet! it turned out perfectly!
    love the wrapping job as well.

Leave a Reply

