Tom’s Cardigan

Quite a while ago, I think it must have been around January this year, I made a few items for my best friend. She was also expecting a baby. In the meantime, he arrived on Easter Monday and has been growing so quickly. Little Tom is gorgeous (you’ll see a picture in a minute :-)), I’m sure you agree. And I’ve been lucky to see my best friend and her little man on a couple of occasions. Firstly, when we went up to Edinburgh to visit them in mid-July, and upon meeting Luke and Tom got on like a house on fire:

And the second time when I went over to Germany for my best friends wedding and the two boys had an entire week that they were able to spend together.

However, I’m here to talk about one of the items I made for Tom, which was this little cardigan.

I know it was a pattern from the guys at Garnstudio, but for the life of me I can’t remember which one it was. All I remember is that I wanted to use up some of my Drops Paris cotton yarn and I looked for patterns that I could use the yarn with, and there you go. What I do remember is that it was a really nice and easy knit. It’s all knitted in one and the sleeves are added in so that you continue knitting it in one piece, which is a really nifty thing, as it means less sewing at the end.

I think the colours worked out very well, at the time I was knitting it, my friend wasn’t 100% sure whether she was having a boy or girl, so I picked the colours as I think they can work for both quite well.

I was lucky also to have some really nice mother of pearl buttons left in my stash, which finish off the cardigan quite nicely.

And doesn’t little Tom look gorgeously cute in it?

6 Responses to “Tom’s Cardigan”

  1. I love the colours! And of course it looks adorable on a baby. 😉

  2. I think Tom was wearing this the first time I met him! It’s a great cardigan. (And great babies both as well.)

  3. Dying. That cardi is so cute. And with Tom in it…as I said, dying.

  4. gorgeous cardi – love it :-)))

  5. i really like the colors in this cardigan – the stripes work well with the solid sleeves and the white bands just tie the whole thing together perfectly!
    and it looks adorable on the equally adorable tom!

  6. Pretty good post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed reading your blog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon.

Leave a Reply

