FO: Birthday Vest

I was able to complete a birthday vest for one of Luke’s little friends: Kiran. And I managed to finish it just before his first birthday on 27th March.  I made the same vest I knitted for my nephew last year.

It’s a lovely pattern that is knitted in the round on 40cm circular needles. As I was knitting it it felt like it was really loose, and that even though I was making the two year size, exactly the same I did as last time. I’m not a big fan of knitting with circular needles that are any smaller than 60cm, it just doesn’t feel good on my hands when I’m actually knitting. And I often feel like I’m getting blisters on my little fingers…which is definitely not good.

I love the effect of the different stitch and I think the stockinette stitch makes the moss stitch look quite fancy. I changed it up a little bit and instead of knitting a rib on the arms I just knitted four rows of garter stitches, I do think it just looks a little better.

I was able to use some buttons from my stash, they are actually from my mom, and I think they finish off the little vest perfectly.

And here’s Kiran, just after waking up from a nap, in the vest. Doesn’t he look adorable?

3 Responses to “FO: Birthday Vest”

  1. The vest looks really lovely! I really enjoy the moss stitch separated from the stockinette with the garter. Very sharp 🙂

  2. beautiful! and it looks adorable on little kiran!

  3. Greetings! I’ve been following your site for a long time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Austin Tx! Just wanted to tell you keep up the excellent work!

Leave a Reply

